Skip to content

bedEndRepair.pl

November 6, 2011

I’ve been spending my down time this last week looking into ways to streamline my data processing. Basically that has meant learning how to write scripts. This is a little script I just wrote that that repositions reads in a BED file that map off the end of the chromosomes back to the end of the chromosome. These are the little things that drive me nuts about next-gen sequencing data analysis. You know when you are using some program or trying to visualize your new data on a genome browser like UCSC or IGV and it spits back some error because a couple reads out of millions maps off the end of the chromosome. I am always thinking, dude, you stupid program, just ignore it!! Anyway here is a solution:

**************************************************************************************

#/usr/bin/perl
use strict; use warnings;

#bedEndRepair.pl by Ethan Ford. Use at own risk!!!!!

#bedEndRepair.pl: Takes reads that map off the end of chromosomes in a bed file and repositions them as a two nucleotide read at
# end of the chromosome.

#Usage: 1) make a fasta index file with samtools with the following command: ‘samtools faidx <ref.fasta>’ or
# make a 2 column tab deliminted text file. The first column contains the chromosome name written as it is in column 1 of your bed file, e.g. chr1,
# and the second column has the length of the corresponding chromosome (and integer)

# 2) type: “perl bedEndRepair.pl path/to/your/indexfile.fai path/to/your/bedfile.bed” into the command line.
# 3) Output is saved in your current working dirctory with the name yourbedfile.repaired.bed

my $outfile = $ARGV[1];
$outfile =~ s/\.bed$/\.repaired.bed/;
open(BEDOUT, “>$outfile”) or die(“Failed to open output file”);

open(INDEXFILE, $ARGV[0]) or die “Failed to open bed file”;
open(BEDFILE, $ARGV[1]) or die “Failed to open index file”;

# turns indexfile.fai into a hash
my %indexhash;

while (<INDEXFILE>) {
chomp;
my ($indexchr, $indexlength) = split(“\t”, $_);
$indexhash{$indexchr} = $indexlength;
};

while (<BEDFILE>) {
chomp;
(my ($chr), my ($start), my ($stop), my ($c4), my ($c5), my ($strand)) = split(“\t”);

if ($start < 1)
{print BEDOUT $chr, “\t”, ‘1’, “\t”, ‘2’, “\t”, $c4, “\t”, $c5, “\t”, $strand, “\n”;}

elsif ($stop > $indexhash{“$chr”})
{print BEDOUT $chr, “\t”, $indexhash{“$chr”}-1, “\t”, $indexhash{“$chr”}, “\t”, $c4, “\t”, $c5, “\t”, $strand, “\n”;}

else
{print BEDOUT $chr, “\t”, $start, “\t”, $stop, “\t”, $c4, “\t”, $c5, “\t”, $strand, “\n”;}

};

close (BEDFILE); close (INDEXFILE); close (BEDOUT);
exit;

**************************************************************************************
I took this script a step further:

#/usr/bin/perl

#chIPbedExtender.pl
#by Ethan Ford version 1/2/12

#This scripts extends the length of the fragments in your bed file to the number you enter in third argument
#The script then takes any reads that map off the ends of chromosomes and positions them as a 2bp read at the end of the chromosome.
#Finally the script splits your bed file into three files by chrmosome. If you don’t want this done just delete the code below line 63.
#The scirpt requires that you have a tab delimited text file with the name of the chomosomes in column 1 and their corresponding lengths in column 2. This file can be created by Samtools (.fai file).
#Usage: Place this script in the same directory as your bed file. Open the Terminal program and navigate to the dicrectory with
# this script and your bed file. Then type: perl chIPbedExtender.pl indexfilename.fai yourbedfilename.bed fragmentsize
#indexfile.fai = the name of the file with the chromosome names and lenghts
#bedfilename.bed = the name of your bed file
#fragmentsize = the average fragment size (not including adapter sequence) of your library. This value is an integer.

use strict; use warnings;

my $indexfilename = $ARGV[0];
my $bedfilename = $ARGV[1];
my $fragmentsize = $ARGV[2];

my $pointbedname = $bedfilename;
$pointbedname =~ s/\.bed$/\.extended.bed/;

my $repairedbedname = $pointbedname;
$repairedbedname =~ s/\.bed$/\.repaired.bed/;

print “extending the fragments in your bed file\n”;

my $bedtopoint = “cat $bedfilename”.’ | awk \'{if($6 == “+”){print $1 “\t” $2 “\t” $2+’.$fragmentsize.’ “\t*\t” $5 “\t” $6}else{print $1 “\t” $3-‘.$fragmentsize.’ “\t” $3 “\t*\t” $5 “\t” $6}}\’ > ‘.$pointbedname;
`$bedtopoint`;

print “repisitioning reads that map off the ends of chromosomes in your bed file\n”;

#bedEndRepair.pl

open(BEDOUT, “>$repairedbedname”) or die(“Failed to open output file”);

open(INDEXFILE, $ARGV[0]) or die “Failed to open index file”;
open(BEDFILE, “$pointbedname”) or die “Failed to open point.bed file”;

# turns indexfile.fai into a hash
my %indexhash;

while () {
chomp;
my ($indexchr, $indexlength) = split(“\t”, $_);
$indexhash{$indexchr} = $indexlength;
};

while () {
chomp;
(my ($chr), my ($start), my ($stop), my ($c4), my ($c5), my ($strand)) = split(“\t”);

if ($start $indexhash{“$chr”})
{print BEDOUT $chr, “\t”, $indexhash{“$chr”}-1, “\t”, $indexhash{“$chr”}, “\t”, $c4, “\t”, $c5, “\t”, $strand, “\n”;}

else
{print BEDOUT $chr, “\t”, $start, “\t”, $stop, “\t”, $c4, “\t”, $c5, “\t”, $strand, “\n”;}
};

close (BEDFILE); close (INDEXFILE); close (BEDOUT);

print “splitting your bed file into 3 by chromosomes\n”;

#Split bed into three files by chromosomes
my $splitbedname1to5 = $repairedbedname;
$splitbedname1to5 =~ s/\.bed$/\.chr1to5.bed/;

my $splitbed1to5 = “cat $repairedbedname”.’ | awk \'{if(($1 == “chr1”) || ($1 == “chr2”) || ($1 == “chr3”) || ($1 == “chr4”) || ($1 == “chr5”)) {print $1 “\t” $2 “\t” $3 “\t” $4 “\t” $5 “\t” $6}}\’ | gzip > ‘.$splitbedname1to5.”\.gz”;
`$splitbed1to5`;

my $splitbedname6to12 = $repairedbedname;
$splitbedname6to12 =~ s/\.bed$/\.chr6to12.bed/;

my $splitbed6to12 = “cat $repairedbedname”.’ | awk \'{if(($1 == “chr6”) || ($1 == “chr7”) || ($1 == “chr8”) || ($1 == “chr9”) || ($1 == “chr10”) || ($1 == “chr11”) || ($1 == “chr12”)) {print $1 “\t” $2 “\t” $3 “\t” $4 “\t” $5 “\t” $6}}\’ | gzip > ‘.$splitbedname6to12.”\.gz”;
`$splitbed6to12`;

my $splitbedname13toX = $repairedbedname;
$splitbedname13toX =~ s/\.bed$/\.chr13toX.bed/;

my $splitbed13toX = “cat $repairedbedname”.’ | awk \'{if(($1 == “chr13”) || ($1 == “chr14”) || ($1 == “chr15”) || ($1 == “chr16”) || ($1 == “chr17”) || ($1 == “chr18”) || ($1 == “chr19”) || ($1 == “chr20”) || ($1 == “chr21”) || ($1 == “chr22”) || ($1 == “chrX”)) {print $1 “\t” $2 “\t” $3 “\t” $4 “\t” $5 “\t” $6}}\’ | gzip > ‘.$splitbedname13toX.”\.gz”;
`$splitbed13toX`;

From → Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

