Skip to content

Bioo Scientific NEXTflex barcode ChIP-seq and me

November 30, 2011

I just got a copy of the Bioo Scientific NEXTflex ChIP-seq Barcodes kit protocol. It appears that they use my trick of a pre-size selection PCR step to convert the Y-shaped adapters to double-stranded DNA. Perhaps I should have patented my methodology or maybe they came up with it first. I am somewhat curious when they released this kit. Anyway, the point of this post is that I can come up innovative and novel methodologies that can make money for a company. So if you work in biotech/pharm in preferably California, have found useful information here, why not return the favor and send me an e-mail (eford.dna-at-gmail-dot-com) so I have an inside contact.

On a practical note, Bioo NEXTflex, like Illumina, does not perform a clean up step between A-tailing and ligation. I would bet that doing this not only saves time but also increases efficiency and perhaps decreases adapter dimer formation. Maybe I will give it a try, but since my protocol is working so well, it is hard to find the motivation to make minor improvements. I’m in the business of solving biological questions. Methodology is what I have to do to get there.

From → Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

