Skip to content

Science Down Under

April 19, 2012

In July I will be joining the lab of Ryan Lister (a.k.a. the King of the Methylome) at the University of Western Australia in the Center for Plant Energy Biology. I will be the first to admit that I know very little about plants and have never really had much of an interest in plants. But going back to my undergraduate days, I have always been interested in the basic biology of gene regulation and epigenetics. The organism, disease model or whatever has always been an excuse or tool.  I think it is going to be a great opportunity to do some really good science with some good people. The only thing I am a little nervous about is the supply chain. The time it takes to get reagents here in Greece is way too long. It won’t be like Boston but I don’t think it will be anything like the bureaucratic headaches I have encountered here in Greece.

Anyway, the point I wanted to make was that there is some good science going on in Australia. The economy is doing much better then the US and Europe. The politicians do not appear to be dead set on slashing spending for everything except the military (US) or counter productive austerity measures (US and Europe – I’m a big Paul Krugman fan). There are talented scientists.  And, importantly, the pay scale is better for scientists then in the US.  So I would suggest taking a serious look at Australia, I did and I think it is going to be a good move.  And if all else fails, I can always work in the mines there.

From → Posts

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

